The Mid Atlantic Scouts Association (MASA) is a professional baseball group comprised of former and current Major League Baseball scouts and front office personnel.  The founding scouts defined this association's mission statement as "promoting the game of baseball and developing fellowship among scouts."

Historical Beginning:

Mid Atlantic Scouts Association's first meeting was held on February 22, 1970 at Frank Sansosti's home in Baltimore, Marlyland.  Listed below are the charter members who attended this first historical meeting.  Our professional baseball association is currently comprised of approximately more than 162 active members throughout the United States and Canada who have scouted in the mid atlantic.

Charter Members

Frank Sansoti's home in Baltimore, Maryland
(February 22, 1970)

Bill "Judy" Johnson (Phillies), Rob Riley (Phillies), Joe Kozik (Phillies), Leroy Hill (Phillies), Sheriff Fowble (Mets), Whitey Stevens (Mets), Dick Bowie (Orioles), Walter Youse (Oriole), Joe Consoli (Pirate), Joe Caputo (Reds), Rady Gumpert (Yankees), Randy Waddill (Braves), Herb Newberry (White Sox), Bob Knoerlein (Expos), Ralph Dilullo (Cubs), Ed Dunn (Twins), and Frank Sansosti (Indians).

Scouting News
Mid Atlantic Scouts Association
"Promoting the game of baseball and developing fellowship among scouts."

Posted: Sunday, December 11, 2016

MASA Banquet Held

The 26th annual Mid Atlantic Scouts banquet was held on Saturday, November 12, at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, Maryland.  The evening was a celebration of baseball in the mid atlantic and enjoyed by all those present.  Mike Wallace, former MLB pitcher, was the guest speaker.  Phil Wood, longtime media personality, served as master of ceremonies.

Bill Buck and Clair Rierson were inducted into the MASA Hall of Fame.

The 27th annual MASA banquet will be held on Saturday, November 11, 2017 at Ripken Stadium.

Posted: Saturday, October 15, 2016

MASA to Honor Manfra, Malkmus and Tomlin
The Mid Atlantic Scouts Association (MASA) has chosen three additional veteran baseball men to receive honors at the annual banquet.

Fred Manfra, Baltimore Orioles broadcaster, will receive the "Career Recognition" Award. Manfra has been an Orioles broadcaster since 1992.  He is regarded as one of the finest announcers in the game.

Randy Tomlin will be presented the "Outstanding Achievement in Pro Baseball" Award. This award is presented annually to someone who played amateur ball in the mid atlantic and reached the major leagues. Tomlin played college ball at Liberty University. He went on to win thirty games for the Pittsburgh Pirates and was a key part of the Bucs success in the early 1990's.

The scouts will honor Bobby Malkmus for his life in the game.  Malkmus, currently a part time scout with the Cleveland Indians, was an infielder with the Milwaukee Braves, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington Senators.  He later managed in the minor leagues and scouted for the Padres and Indians.

The banquet will be held at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, Maryland on November 12.